The Associates of the James Ford Bell Library were organized in 1963 to support the mission and activities of the James Ford Bell Library. Over the years, they have worked on or contributed to projects as diverse as publishing, acquisitions, and outreach. Each year they fund History Day prizes, supporting K-12 historical research, and the Carol Urness Student Writing Award, which supports the work of University of Minnesota students who use the resources of Bell Library. They also are the primary sponsors of the Annual James Ford Bell Lecture, now in its 50th year.

To learn more about the Associates, visit their Web site at

To become a member:


History Day Topical Prize
Carol Urness Student Writing Award

a href="">

Annual Lecture

Each year the Bell Library hosts an annual lecture, supported by the Associates, by a scholar on a topic related to the Bell collection. In 2013, instead of an annual lecture, we will be celebrating the 60th anniversary of the founding of the Bell Library with a special 60th Anniversary Gala on October 30th. More information

Board of Directors

Jaden Hansen, chair
Wilson Yates, vice president-planning
Jennifer I. Johnson, vice president-communications
Ellen George, treasurer
Marguerite Ragnow, curator, secretary; ex officio
Ford W. Bell, Honorary Director; ex officio
James Hurd Anderson
Victoria Keller
David Lanegran
Susan Stekel Rippley
Judith Anderson Brindley, emeritus trustee
Martin Kellogg, emeritus trustee
Charles Hann, emeritus trustee
John Larkin, emeritus trustee
Curtis Roy, emeritus trustee