Archives and Special Collections are open by appointment only, limited to UMN affiliates. Appointments must be made one week in advance of your visit. Contact or the curator of the collecting area you wish to use for assistance. We continue to provide scans of requested research materials when possible, especially for our non-campus clientele.


2019 Chase Lecture in Children's Literature: Adam Gidwitz

Presented by the College of Education and Human Development

April 10, 2019


Adam Gidwitz portrait


Adam Gidwitz has written a New York Times Bestselling book that begins with the main characters being decapitated (A Tale Dark and Grimm), a Newbery Honor book about God and the Problem of Evil (The Inquisitor’s Tale), and a new chapter book for younger middle grade readers about bloodsucking monsters and Trump’s Border Wall (Unicorn Rescue Society: Chupacabras of the Río Grande). He will talk about why he thinks such topics are appropriate for children, the next frontier of taboos in children’s literature, and how writers and gatekeepers can (and should) address the most uncomfortable topics in engaging ways. 

This event is presented by the College of Education and Human Development, with support from the Children's Literature Research Collections. RSVP at


Previous Chase Lecture Speakers:

1980 Marguerite Henry
1981 Arnold Lobel
1982 Natalie Babbitt
1983 Tomie dePaola
1984 Jean Fritz
1985 Ashley Bryan
1986 Jean Craighead George
1987 Trina Schart Hyman
1988 Sid Fleischman
1989 Myra Cohn Livingston
1990 Donald Crews
1991 Nancy Larrick
1992 Katherine Paterson
1993 Mary Stolz
1994 Paul Fleischman
1995 Patricia MacLachlan
1996 Lois Ehlert
1997 Lois Lowry
1998 James Ransome
1999 James Cross Giblin
2000 Lee Bennett Hopkins
2001 Janet Stevens
2002 Karla Kuskin
2003 Lisa Westberg Peters and Lauren Stringer
2004 Avi
2005 Richard Peck
2006 Barry Moser
2007 Emily Arnold McCully
2008 Paul B. Janeczko
2009 Chris Raschka
2010 Gary Schmidt
2011 Jerry Pinkney
2012 Sy Montomery
2013 Marilyn Nelson
2014 Jane Yolen
2015 Jon Scieszka
2016 Peter Brown
2017 Melissa Sweet
2018 Kevin Henkes