Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, visiting Magrath Library is different. Read the detailed information about changes to reduce the risk of COVID-19.

U Card Access

A current U Card is needed to get into Magrath Library. Hold your U Card to the U Card reader outside the entrance on Buford Ave or the entrance across from Gortner parking ramp. Wait for the green light. The door closest to the card reader will unlock.

Getting to the library

From I-35W (both directions):

Take Interstate 35W to the Cleveland Avenue exit. Continue south on Cleveland Avenue for a mile and a half. Turn left onto Buford Avenue and proceed 2 blocks. Magrath Library will be on the right near the intersection of Buford Ave and Lower Buford Circle.

From I-94 (both directions):

Take I-94 to the Highway 280 exit. Proceed northbound on Highway 280 for 1 mile to the Kasota Ave/ Energy Park Drive exit. Turn right onto Energy Park Drive and proceed 1/2 mile to Raymond Ave. Turn left onto Raymond Ave and continue for 1 mile (the road will become Cleveland Ave) to Buford Ave. Turn right onto Buford Ave and proceed for 2 blocks. Magrath Library will be on the right near the intersection of Buford Ave and Lower Buford Circle.

Parking near Magrath Library

Magrath Library is located adjacent to the Gortner Avenue Ramp. For more information on parking on campus, please visit the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities Parking and Transportation Services parking information page.

Our building

The library building was originally built in 1953 and the "wing" was opened in January 1980. The library collection contains approximately 400,000 volumes housed on three floors. In addition to the collections, Magrath Library contains Circulation and Reference Services, the SMART Learning commons, and an extended hours study area.

Dr. C. Peter Magrath

Dr. C. Peter Magrath (pronounced muh-GRAW) was the University of Minnesota's 11th President from 1974-1984. In 1998 the library's name was changed to Magrath Library from St. Paul Campus Central Library. Dr. Magrath served as President of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges from 1992 through 2005. He was elected as the President of Binghamton University in 2010.