Reopening information

Masks are required in library buildings. Learn more about fall reopening.

Awards, grants, and fellowships

The Ezra Jack Keats/Kerlan Memorial Fellowship

The Ezra Jack Keats/Kerlan Memorial Fellowship from the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation provides funding to a “talented writer and/or illustrator of children’s books who wishes to use the Kerlan Collection for the furtherance of his or her artistic development.” The Keats Foundation recently raised the amount of the award to $4,000.00.

This fellowship is intended to provide financial assistance for writers and illustrators who wish to use the original manuscripts, illustrations, and books of the Kerlan Collection in course of their professional development. Special consideration will be given to those who would find it difficult to finance a visit to the Kerlan Collection.

The Ezra Jack Keats Fellowship recipient will receive funds for travel expenses and a per diem allotment.  Applications must be postmarked by January 30 of year they wish to use the award. The winner will be notified in February and March. Study and written report must be completed during the calendar year. The short written report should document the experience of the researcher in the archive, as well as how they believe what they viewed will inform their own work, and may be posted in the department blog and/or newsletter.

A completed application (template with requirements is available here) should be mailed to Ezra Jack Keats/Kerlan Memorial Fellowship, 113 Andersen Library, 222 21st Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455.

Previous Keats Fellowship Recipients

1985 Ilse Plume

1986 Ellen Stoll Walsh

1987 Richard Jesse Watson

1989 Loreen Leedy and Jean Gralley

1990 Leslie Tryon

1991  Andrea Wyman

1992  Marjorie Allen

1993 Constance Bergum

1994 Marc Harshman

1995  Paula Nourse-Ragland

1996  David Pelletier

1998  Beth Royalty

1999  Sandra Ure Griffin

2000  Hilary Janeway Smith

2002  Chip Houser and Lori McElrath-Eslick

2003  Kena Sosa

2004 Daniel Powers

2007 Amanda Sheperd

2008 Kelly Baptist

2009  Kathleen Wong Bishop and Leslie Ann Hayashi

2010  Dina Weinstein

2011  Ted Anderson

2015   Erin McGill

2016   Sergio Ruzzier

2018 K-Fai Steele

Back to top

Marilyn Hollinshead Visiting Scholars Fellowship

Marilyn Hollinshead Visiting Scholars Fund for Travel to the Kerlan Collection will be available for research study. Applicants may request up to $1,500.

Send a letter with the proposed purpose, plan to use specific research materials (manuscripts and art within the Kerlan Collection), dates, and budget (including airfare and per diem) to Marilyn Hollinshead Visiting Scholars Fellowship, 113 Andersen Library, 222 21st Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455.

The application deadline is January 30 of the year they wish to use the award. Travel and a written report on the project must be completed and submitted before the end of the year.


Previous Hollinshead Fellowship Recipients

2005 Connie Ann Kirk

2005 Jean M. Stevenson

2006 Sandra Imdieke

2007 Fenice B. Boyd

2008 Helen Kopec

2009 Lawrence P. Sipe

2010 Randy Bomer and Nancy Roser


2011 Sylvia Vardell

2013 Diane Corcoran Nielsen

2014 JoAnn Conrad

2015 Lindsey Wyckoff

2016 Steven Herb

2017 Claudia Mills

2018 Leonard Marcus

Back to top