The Kerlan Award is given in recognition of singular attainments in the creation of children's literature and in appreciation for generous donation of unique resources to the Kerlan Collection for the study of children's literature. Individuals from all areas of children's literature, including authors, illustrators, editors, publishers, and educators, are eligible for this honor.

For more information, or to nominate someone to the Kerlan Award Committee, please email or call 612-624-4576.

2016 Kerlan Award

Illustrators and children’s book authors Betsy and Ted Lewin have been selected to receive the 2016 Kerlan Award. This husband and wife team, both Caldecott Honorees for separate books, have written and or illustrated over 250 picture books between them. Their latest collaboration is titled How To Babysit A Leopard, and other True Stories From Our Travels Across Six Continents.

The Award Luncheon will take place on April 30th at Noon in Andersen Library, Room 120. Further information, including an RSVP form, will be available soon.

Past Winners of the Kerlan Award, 1975-

1975 Marie Hall Ets, Marguerite Henry, and Elizabeth Coatsworth
1976 Roger Duvoisin
1977 Wanda Gag
1978 Carol Ryrie Brink
1979 Margot Zemach

1980 Glen Rounds
1981 Tomie DePaola
1982 Jean Craighead George
1983 Katherine Paterson
1984 Margaret Wise Brown and her editors and illustrators
1985 Eleanor Cameron
1986 Charlotte Zolotow
1987 Charles Mikolaycak
1988 Jane Yolen
1989 Gail Haley

1990 Madeline L'Engle
1991 Leonard Everett Fisher
1992 Barbara Cooney
1993 Mary Stolz
1994 Myra Cohn Livingston
1995 Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
1996 Marion Dane Bauer and Paul Galdone
1997 Theodore Taylor
1998 Dahlov Ipcar
1999 Eve Bunting, Lois Lenski, Dr. Edward B. Stanford, and Dr. Norine Odland

2000 Patricia Lauber
2001 Jane Resh Thomas and Don Freeman
2002 Joan Lowery Nixon and Barbara Esbensen
2003 Nikki Grimes and Gustav Tenggren
2004 Lois Lowry
2005 Ted Rand
2006 Karen Hesse
2007 Karen Cushman and Louis Slobodkin
2008 Walter Dean Myers and Robert Kraus
2009 Jeanette Winter

2010 Nancy Carlson
2011 Jane Kurtz
2012 Karen Nelson Hoyle
2013 Kate DiCamillo
2014 Linda Sue Park and Russell Freedman
2015 Sharon Creech