Associates of the James Ford Bell Library

The Associates of the James Ford Bell Library were organized in 1963 to support the mission and activities of the James Ford Bell Library.

Over the years, the Associates have worked on or contributed to projects as diverse as publishing, acquisitions, and outreach.

Each year they fund History Day prizes, supporting K-12 historical research, and the Carol Urness Student Writing Award, which supports the work of University of Minnesota students who use the resources of Bell Library. They also are the primary sponsors of the James Ford Bell Lecture.

To learn more about the Associates, visit their Web site at

To become a member:

Board of Directors

James Hurd Anderson, chair
Wilson Yates, vice president-planning
Jennifer I. Johnson, vice president-communications
Ellen George, treasurer
Marguerite Ragnow, curator, secretary; ex officio
Natasha Bruns
Jaden Hansen
Victoria Keller
David Lanegran
Molly O'Connor

Ford W. Bell, DVM, Honorary Director; ex officio

Judith Anderson Brindley, emeritus trustee (d. 2020)
Charles Hann, emeritus trustee
Martin Kellogg, emeritus trustee (d. 2019)
John Larkin, emeritus trustee (d. 2019)
Curtis Roy, emeritus trustee (d. 2018)